Where you go, Google knows. Here’s how to stop it from knowing where you are all the time.
If you use any of Google’s apps, you’re probably being tracked. And just because you’ve turned off location history on your Google account doesn’t mean you’re in the clear. Disabling that setting may seem like a one-and-done solution, but some Google apps are still storing your location data. Simply opening the Google Maps app or using Google search on any platform logs your approximate location with a time stamp.
Following a 2018 investigation by the Associated Press, however, Google has made it easier to control what location and other data is saved, and what is deleted with features like Your Data in Maps and Search, which give you quick access to your location controls. You just have to know where to look.
Turning off location history only removes where you’ve been from the Google Maps Timeline feature, which logs your location with certain…