As we’re all a bit more mindful of what we share these days, it has forced the likes of Google to be more upfront about what it does and doesn’t know.
Location History is supposed to be turned off by default but some other stuff might be being collected.
It’s a good idea to check anyway and the best way to do that is through the Google activity area.
Tracking is actually meant to make internet life easier by knowing what you like and don’t like.
But not everyone is comfortable with it, of course.
Thankfully you can access your Google activity from a computer by visiting this website: myactivity.google.com.
From here, you’ll see three options: web & app activity, location history and YouTube history.
Below each you’ll see a tick box.
You can switch these to off if you would rather Google not track what you’re up to.
Selecting them will also provide you more information about what it is Google does.
For example, under web & app activity it says Google “saves your activity on Google sites and apps, including associated information like location, to give you faster searches, better recommendations and more personalized experiences in Maps, Search and other Google services”.
Tracking is actually meant to make internet life easier by knowing what you like and don’t like.NICHOLAS KAMM/AFP/Getty Images
You can see and delete any activity from relevant apps and services…